St. Michael's Abbey Anthology - Chants and Polyphony from St. Michael

Item Number: 62602

Catalog Code: M2-36418

Product Details
H x W x D: 
Play Time: 
0"  2009

Purchase Information

Your Price: $10.19 $16.99 (40% discount)

Format:      CD   

Select Qty: 

In Stock.

More Options

Add To My:

 Our Description


The second album of Sacred Music from the Norbertine Fathers of St. Michael's Abbey.

"Silverado's chanting Norbertine Fathers have struck a chord with their CD, 'Christmas at St. Michael's Abbey,' recently in the top 10 on Amazon's classical vocal and song list." - Rick Reiff - Orange County Business Journal

After "Christmas at St. Michael's Abbey" - "The singing on this album is so very beautiful, and thoroughly authentic,"  - California Catholic Daily

Jade Music/Milan Records is proud to release the second album by the Norbertine Fathers: Anthology: Chants and Polyphony from St. Michael's Abbey, another rare release of chants and polyphony from a domestic U.S. abbey. Release date February 10, 2009.

The eclectic selection on this album is a cross-section of music sung at the abbey that includes chants from the liturgy as well as motets and music from the Renaissance era. These latter are sung on more solemn occasions like Easter, Pentecost, Christmas, and other great feasts of the liturgical year. "Anthology: Chants and Polyphony from St. Michael's Abbey" is a testimony of the vigor and subtle beauty of Gregorian chant as sung today in the USA.

St. Michael's Abbey is a community of Norbertine Canons Regular in Orange County, California. Its first members were Hungarian priests who escaped communism to find refuge in the United States in 1957. The community was raised to the status of an abbey in 1984, because of its growth. St. Michael's Abbey now numbers nearly 70 members.


1. Tu Nobis Dona (2:15)

2. Arbor Decora (1:39)

3. Exultet (11:26)

4. Qui Confidunt (3:33)

5. Cantemus Domina (3:18)

6. Vinea Facta Est (3:12)

7. Laudate Dominum (2:25)

8. Vinea Facta Est (2:59)

9. Attende Coelum (4:18)

10. Sicut Cervus (3:44)

11. Ave Maria (3:13)

12. Panis Angelicus (2:13)

13. Spiritus Domini (3:21)

14. Spiritus Sanctus (2:07)

15. Veni Sancte Spiritus (5:11)

16. Confirma Hoc (1:42)

17. Factus Est Repente (1:26)

18. Verbum Caro (5:28)

Gift Finder Favorites