The Chronicles of Narnia

Item Number: 1059

Catalog Code: CN7P

Product Details
H x W x D: 

0"  More Harper Trophy Gifts

Purchase Information

Your Price: $38.25 $45.00 (15% discount)

Format:      Paperback   

Select Qty: 

In Stock.

More Options

Review Provided By - THE Catholic Book Review Site Average Rating: This item received 5 stars overall.
Add To My:

 Our Description


The Chronicles of Narnia - Paperback Boxed Set

Read The Chronicles of Narnia in its entirety with this seven book box set, containing mass market paperback editions of C. S. Lewis's classic fantasy series. C. S. Lewis's The Chronicles of Narnia has captivated readers of all ages for over sixty years, enchanting them with a magical realm where worlds come and go at the toss of a ring, where boys and girls become kings and queens, where there are more talking creatures than people.

This box set includes all seven titles in The Chronicles of Narnia-The Magician's NephewThe Lion, the Witch and the WardrobeThe Horse and His BoyPrince CaspianThe Voyage of the Dawn TreaderThe Silver Chair; and The Last Battle -with the original black-and-white interior illustrations by Pauline Baynes.

Review Provided By - THE Catholic Book Review Site

This item received 5 stars overall. The magical land of Narnia

The recent movies The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and Prince Caspian have stirred a renewed interest in the novels written by C.S. Lewis, of which there are seven. Before the movies came out, I had only heard of the Narnia series in passing, and to be honest, I wasn’t particularly interested in it. After I saw the first movie, that changed. After the release of the second movie (with a surprise and horrible ending), I was interested enough in the series to read it for myself (the same thing happened with the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, but I was so exhausted after reading Fellowship of the Ring that I never finished the Two Towers). So I read it.

Unfortunately, even though I liked both Narnia movies, they really didn’t do justice Full Review...

This item received 5 stars overall. A wonderful story for any age.

I first read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe when I was fairly young, and re-read it for an English assignment in 7th grade - at which point it became my favorite book. For years afterward, I wanted to read the rest of the series, but aside from a few attempts, I didn't actually read the rest of them until my senior year in college when I took a class on CS Lewis. My high expectations of the rest of the books were certainly not let down in the least.

Lewis weaves a great tale, managing to keep threads of continuity throughout changing storylines, settings, and characters, all the way through the last book in the series. Some people wonder what the best order is to read the stories - most editions now, especially the seven-in-one books, have the books in chronological order as opposed to the order in which Lewis wrote them. Personally, I think the published order is the better way to read them - but it is harder to find sets in this order. As my professor for that CS Lew Full Review...

Browse For Similar Items In

Related Articles

1. St. John Bosco 01/16/2009

2. St. Thomas Aquinas 01/06/2009

3. Children's Resources for Learning About the Saints 12/15/2008

4. The Ignatius Critical Editions 11/25/2008

5. St. Francis Xavier 11/24/2008

6. Made For More 10/01/2008

7. Theology of the Body for Teens FAQ 10/26/2007

Gift Finder Favorites